Fare thee well Auntie Yvonne!

To my great Auntie Yvonne,Yvonee

Today, 13th July 2015,  is your funeral day. I’m sorry not to be there to say goodbye in person and to pay tribute to your incredible life. Instead, I pay my tributes to you from here in Cambodia.

A few years back, someone (or perhaps it was you!?) created a facebook account in your name. Suddenly, I was receiving facebook likes from my 91 year old great aunt and I was impressed. I was even more impressed when the fb comments and chat appeared. Granted there were a few typos, a few too many commas and spaces, but it was typical of you to be so savvy – you were witty 500 victor in our family, the passionate bridge player, joker, curious and considerate great aunt. Your active mind kept you young for so long.

You were my granddad’s oldest sister and the last remaining of your siblings. I felt that your presence kept alive the memories we had of Mick and that he lived on through you. Over the last few years, you became to us an adopted grandparent and your presence at all important family occasions felt not only good, it felt right. There was someone missing if you were not there.

Your life was not easy. It was one of incredible ups and downs – not many have suffered the loss you have experienced in life and very few of us could maintain the incredible optimism, love, generosity and acceptance you have demonstrated in the face of great pain. That is perhaps one of the greatest lessons you have taught me – life can be very hard, but with family and friends by your side, love can get you through. Nothing could ever break your irrepressible spirit.

By lineage, you are my great aunt and great you are indeed. I will miss the sound of your voice down the hallway, your cane, your vibrant red hair and your tinted glasses. I will miss you calling me Emily. Mostly, I will miss the sound of your chuckle and your sight of your smile looking out to the Brisbane River with a “sparkling” in hand.

Fare thee well Auntie Yvonne and may all the beautiful qualities you possessed live on in us still here on earth.

As your sister-in-law would have said with a handkerchief in hand, “Hooray now.”

Leave a Reply

