Bali

So I went to Bali and I thought I would come back all Eat, Pray, Love and tell everyone something massively insightful. Well, I went, I laid on the beach, toured around the island, met an adorable surfer, and relaxed. It was amazing; I even tanned.

I did come away with one bit of life advice for everyone, especially women: take a damn vacation.

Most of us, especially the women I know, spend our lives getting so wrapped up in our own thoughts, trying to be better, trying to accomplish more, that we get pretty much nowhere. Then we somehow think that if we do something for ourselves, we are being selfish and we feel guilty. I find this especially true for mothers and people who work in my field (human rights, development, etc).

Taking a break allows you to recharge so that you can better accomplish what you set out to. If you let yourself burn out, you are no good to anyone. So, go to Bali everyone.

That’s all I got.

2 thoughts on “Bali

  1. magdalena viktoria says:

    Very true! We sometimes feel guilty about taking a vacation or taking any time off, but it’s precisely what we need so we can do better in our professional and life roles.

    p.s. I was just in Bali two weeks ago!

Leave a Reply

